Yesterday’s Yoga

Like the title? I’m a big fan of  alliteration. Anyway, welcome to my second blog post! As you know, one of my resolutions this year was to complete the 31 day yoga revolution, which you can learn more about by clicking here.

So, yesterday was day two of the challenge and I’m actually really enjoying it. I love that time to myself when I can just breathe and let go of all the stresses of the day. Which is exactly what I was hoping for when I started this journey. Yesterday’s practice was “intention”; understanding why you’re doing something, not just doing it. In yoga, that meant being aware of what moves you were making. However, I like this lesson outside of yoga, too.

To me, we can get so caught up in doing things every day that we forget why we do them in the first place. I didn’t realize it was a problem until I began teaching middle school. Far too often I’ll find my students doing something silly, like throwing things across the classroom at other students, but when I ask them why they’re doing it the answer is always the same; shrugs, “I dunno”. Do you know how hard it is to teach these young ones to think about their intentions? Now, I’m not perfect, and I fully believe that these students are the karmic universe’s way of reminding me of how I acted in middle school, but it’s my job to teach my students something before they leave me.

Think about your intentions everyday. Have a purpose behind the things you do.

             d2bbbfd060d5703cfd43dcd62feb4f93

Leave a Reply

