Like a Good Neighbor…

First, I would like to apologize for falling off the blogging wagon. It started because I couldn’t think of the right topic and then I kept putting it off; got busy with school and grading and planning and just let it go. But now, I’m back.

The reason it took me so long to come up with a topic to write about is because I don’t want this to turn into a diary or a place where I come to write without purpose. I have a journal by my bed and that’s precisely what it’s for. This is more than that; this should have meaning. So, what’s the topic that I’ve waiting so long to write about? Being a good neighbor…

It was our sermon series at church for the last few weeks and it really stuck with me. Our pastor started the series with asking who is our neighbor? He went on to explain that it’s not always the people who are like us or that we spend time with, but also the people who are nothing like use that we prefer to avoid. Great… I thought… Patriots fans. Then, the pastor spent the following weeks after this explaining what it means to be a good neighbor to someone. He explained it more clearly than I’ve heard before, but then again, maybe I’m just listening more nowadays. Either way, he explained that in order to be a good neighbor, when you see someone hurting or in need, think to yourself, “If I was this person, how would I feel loved?” and then whatever the answer is, do it.

I think this is a serious idea that needs to be discussed as I watch people destroy cities and attack people who are different from them. If we loved our neighbors as we loved ourselves, would we cheat? Would we lie? Would we intentionally hurt people? No. Because if you wouldn’t want to be treated that way, then why would you do it to someone else?

be-kind

 

 

Leave a Reply

